Studies of the hand- sketchbook

As this is an area I have been struggling with I have been having a practice at hands and feet while also looking at the work of Leonardo du Vinci.

The muscles of the shoulder and arm, and the bones of the foot,c.1510 Leonardo da Vinci: Anatomist Credit line: The Royal Collection (c) 2012, Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II This photograph is issued to end-user media only. It may be used ONCE ONLY in connection with the exhibition of Leonardo da Vinci: Anatomist, The Queen's Gallery, Buckingham Palace, 4 May - 7 October 2012. Photographs must not be archived or sold on.
The muscles of the shoulder and arm, and the bones of the foot,c.1510

Leonardo da Vinci: Anatomist

image

He looked closely at the anatomy of the body to better understand it’s structure. The skin acting like a cloth over the body hiding the underlying structures of muscle and skeleton.

Here I have also tried to think about using circles and cylinders to build up my drawings but I am not sure if this helps. In the sketch of my feet in the bath I have been experimenting with the use of a coloured ground to emphasise the white highlights. I think this works well.

image

Albrecht Durer(1471-1528), studied in order to portray the human form accurately through proportional measurement.image

The pen and ink drawing , Praying Hands (1508), are beautifully drawn and show a close observation.

image

Ref : http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Albrecht.Durer

 

 

Leave a comment